Festival Staff

DIPTI GUPTA – Director of the festival

Dipti teaches in the department of Cinema and Communication at Dawson College, Montreal.
She also teaches Art forms of Bollywood cinema at Concordia University. She is an active board member of Teesri Duniya theatre since 1992.

KANITA AHMED – Associate Director of the festival

Kanita is a board member of the Kabir Centre and works at McGill University. She is passionate about South Asian art, literature and cinema.

SWATI KHANNA – Associate Director of the festival

In a career spanning over a decade in India, Swati acquired experience ranging from conceptualization to scripting, shooting and post-production and was one
of the most talented professionals of the media industry. As the Creative Director for Colors ( General Entertainment Channel ) in the Non-Fiction
Programming Team, Swati has helmed superhit reality shows like Dancing with the Stars , Fear Factor and many big Award shows. In her roles at other
national networks like NDTV and MTV, Swati has handled all aspects of Television Production. Swati is currently working with Teesri Duniya Theatre in Montreal.

DUSHYANT YAJNIK – Head of Film Freeway Programming

A film buff for many years, he was the chairperson of the 2015 SAFFM committee and the director of SAFFM 2016. Initially a family physician, he studied and has specialized in psychotherapy and psychoanalysis. He organized and participated in the “Psychoanalysis and Cinema” past screenings and seminars of the Quebec English Branch of the Canadian Psychoanalytic Society and at Montreal’s Argyle Institute  of Human Relations. He spoke at the “Au Contraire Film Festival” 2016 which purposely seeks out  edgy, thought provoking films from around the world which explore mental health issues from different viewpoints. He is on the board of  Montreal’s Kabir Centre for Arts and Culture.


Jayanta Guha : Founder and Coordinator of the conference series ‘Regard sur le monde’ and the animation team of Bibliothèques de la Ville de Saguenay.

Philippe Belley : Director and Founder of ‘Les films de la Baie’

Richard Boivin : Professor at Cégep de Chicoutimi, animator at Ciné Club de Chicoutimi 

Jean Chateauvert : Professor of cinema, Université du Québec à Chicoutimi


Alida Oh
Amira Faradj
Bibi Emina
Elizabeth Pinault
Emily Fergusson
Hugh Durnfors
Jessica M Beausoleil
Liza Tom
Mercedeh Barouque
Nooria Puri
Sandra Hercegova
Shishira Suresh