SATYAJIT RAY EVENING

SOUTH ASIAN FILM FESTIVAL OF MONTREAL IS PLEASED TO BRING YOU
A SPECIAL EVENING OF SATYAJIT RAY, THE MASTER FILMMAKER

Satyajit Ray was an Indian Bengali filmmaker, widely regarded as one of the greatest filmmakers of the 20th century. Born in Calcutta into a Bengali family prominent in the world of arts and literature, Ray started his career as a commercial artist. He was drawn into independent filmmaking after meeting French filmmaker Jean Renoir and viewing Vittorio De Sica’s Italian neorealist film Bicycle Thieves (1948) during a visit to London. Ray directed 36 films, including feature films, documentaries and shorts. He was also a fiction writer, publisher, illustrator, calligrapher, music composer, graphic designer and film critic. He authored several short stories and novels, primarily aimed at children and adolescents. Feluda, the sleuth, and Professor Shonku, the scientist in his science fiction stories, are popular fictional characters created by him. Ray’s first film, Pather Panchali (1955), won eleven international prizes, including the inaugural Best Human Document award at the 1956 Cannes Film Festival. This film, along with Aparajito (1956), and Apur Sansar (1959) form The Apu Trilogy. Ray did the scripting, casting, scoring, and editing, and designed his own credit titles and publicity material. Ray received many awards, including 36 National Film Awards by the Government of India, and awards at international film festivals. At the Berlin International Film Festival, he was one of only four filmmakers to win the Silver Bear for Best Director more than once and holds the record for the most Golden Bear nominations. At the Venice Film Festival, where he had previously won a Golden Lion for Aparajito (1956), he was awarded the Golden Lion Honorary Award in 1982. Ray is the second film personality after Charlie Chaplin to have been awarded an honorary doctorate by Oxford University. He was awarded the Legion of Honor by the President of France in 1987.The Government of India awarded him the Dadasaheb Phalke Award in 1985, Padma Bhushan in 1965 and the highest civilian honour, Bharat Ratna, shortly before his death. The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences awarded Ray an Honorary Award in 1992 for Lifetime Achievement.

SAFFMontréal will be presenting two equally adorable films during its 11th edition, one made by Satyajit Ray himself and the other by his son Sandip Ray based on a character created by the great master as follows:

Ganashatru(Ennemi du peuple)

Synopis : Ashoke Gupta is an idealistic doctor working in a town near Calcutta. He discovers that the water at a popular temple is the source of an outbreak of typhoid and hepatitis. In order to save lives, he risks his career to try and call attention to this polluted water source, while a local group promoting blind faith attempt to discredit him in various ways. This film is Ray’s adaptation of Henrik Ibsen’s play ”An enemy of the people”, re-imagined in a small town of India. The film becomes all the more relevant in these ‘pandemic’ times, marked by opposing viewpoints. The play by Ibsen has been revived by several theatre companies in different countries, including Montreal’s Theâtre du Nouveau Monde which has planned it in the 2021-22 season.

Year of production : 1989
Language : Bengali
Length : 100 mins
Subtitles : English & French (separate versions)
Venue : online from 19th to 28th 2021


Ticketing (free) registration : CLICK HERE

PROF SHANKU O EL DORADO
PROFESSOR SHANKU O EL DORADO

Professor Shanku with credits

Synopsis : This is an adventure story of the fictional genius scientist and inventor Professor Shonku visiting the heart of the Amazon forests in search of the mythical city of El Dorado. One day, a typical Bengali gentleman Nakur Chandra Biswas alias Nakur Babu comes to meet him in Shonku’s house in Giridih. He lives in Makardaha. Shanku realises that Nakur Babu has a supernatural power having the ability to read other’s minds and see the future.

Year: 2019
Language: Bengali
Duration: 93 mins
Subtitles: Bilingual (English and French)
Venue: Cinémathèque Québécoise, on 26th Nov at 19h00


BUY TICKETS: CLICK HERE

PANEL DISCUSSION:
The screening at Cinémathèque on 26th Nov, will be followed by a panel discussion with the filmmakers and other distinguished panelists. The following are the details of the panelists :

  1. Sandip Ray, son of Satyajit Ray and director of ‘Prof. Shanku O El Dorado’, Kolkata, India
  2. Dr. Chinmay Guha, Kolkata India
    Chinmoy Guha is a professor and former Head of the department of English at the University of Calcutta, a Bengali essayist and translator, and a scholar of French language and literature. He has served as the Vice-Chancellor of Rabindra Bharati University and Director of Publications, Embassy of France, New Delhi. He has been awarded knighthoods by the ministries of Education and Culture of the Government of France, in 2010 and 2013. Paschimbanga Bangla Akademi and the Government of West Bengal conferred on him Vidyasagar Puroshkar in 2017. The French President conferred on him in November 2019 the title of Chevalier de l’Ordre national du Mérite for his contribution to intercultural exchange. He won the prestigious Sahitya Akademi Award 2019 in Bengali literature for his collection of essays Ghumer Darja Thele.
  3. Dr. Subho Basu, McGill University, Montreal
    Dr. Subho Basu is an associate professor in the Department of History and Classical Studies in Mcgill University. After completing his Ph.D in History in University of Cambridge, UK he was a lecturer in L British Imperial History in University of Exeter, UK and School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London. He has also served as associate Professor in South Asian History in Syracuse University and Illinois State University. He is also the author of several books and research articles published in critically acclaimed journals. He has been awarded Smuts Hinduja Fellowship, University of Cambridge, Cambridge, UK., Charles Wallace Research Award, London, UK.,  Foreign and Commonwealth Office Scholarship, British Council, London, UK. His area of specialization includes South Asian History and Culture, Labor History, History of Contemporary Social Movements, Materialist Approaches to Culture, Space, Globalization and he is a passionate critic of Indian art, theatre and films.
  4. Bratya Basu
  5. Dr. Srabanti Basu, Kolkata, India
    Srabanti Basu is a professor in biotechnology in the Heritage Institute of Technology, Kolkata. Apart from her academic pursuits, she has a passion for poetry and poetry performance. Trained by Bratati Bandyopadhyay, she has performed in India and abroad for National Museum Bangkok, Indian Embassy Bangkok, Indian Embassy Mexico, New Jersey Institute of Technology, American Center Kolkata, Alliance Francaise Kolkata to name a few. Besides her interest in dramatics and visual art she is well versed with Satyajit Ray films .

SOIRÉE SATYAJIT RAY

LE FESTIVAL DES FILMS DE L’ASIE DU SUD DE MONTRÉAL EST HEUREUX DE
RENDRE HOMMAGE À 
SATYAJIT RAY, LE GRAND CINÉASTE INDIEN 

Satyajit Ray était un cinéaste indien bengali, partout considéré comme l’un des plus grands cinéastes du XXe siècle. Né à Calcutta dans une éminente famille bengali dans le monde des arts et de la littérature, Ray a commencé sa carrière en tant qu’artiste commercial. Il a été attiré par le cinéma indépendant après avoir rencontré le cinéaste français Jean Renoir et visionné le film néoréaliste italien de Vittorio De Sica, Bicycle Thieves (1948) lors d’une visite à Londres. Ray a réalisé 36 films, dont des longs métrages, des documentaires et des courts métrages. Il a également été écrivain de fiction, éditeur, illustrateur, calligraphe, compositeur de musique, graphiste et critique de cinéma. Il est l’auteur de plusieurs romans, principalement destinés aux enfants et aux adolescents. Feluda, le détective, et le professeur Shonku, le scientifique dans ses histoires de science-fiction, sont des personnages de fiction populaires créés par lui. Le premier film de Ray, Pather Panchali (1955), a remporté onze prix internationaux, dont le premier prix du meilleur document humain au Festival de Cannes 1956. Ce film, avec Aparajito (1956) et Apur Sansar (1959) forment le Apu Trilogy. Ray a fait le script, le casting, la notation et l’édition, et a conçu ses propres titres de crédit et matériel publicitaire. Ray a reçu de nombreux prix, dont 36 prix nationaux du film décernés par le gouvernement indien et des prix dans des festivals de films internationaux. Au Festival international du film de Berlin, il a été l’un des quatre cinéastes à remporter plus d’une fois le Silver Bear du meilleur réalisateur et détient le record du plus grand nombre de nominations pour Golden Bear. Au Festival du film de Venise, où il avait précédemment remporté un Lion d’or pour Aparajito (1956), il a reçu le Golden Lion Honorary Award en 1982. Ray est la deuxième personnalité du cinéma après Charlie Chaplin à avoir reçu un doctorat honorifique de l’Université d’Oxford. . Il a reçu la Légion d’honneur du président français en 1987. Le gouvernement indien lui a décerné le prix Dadasaheb Phalke en 1985, Padma Bhushan en 1965 et la plus haute distinction civile, Bharat Ratna, peu de temps avant sa mort. L’Académie des arts et des sciences du cinéma a décerné à Ray un prix honorifique en 1992 pour l’ensemble de ses réalisations.

SAFFMontréal présentera lors de son 11e édition deux films tout aussi adorables , un produit par Satyajit Ray et l’autre par son fils Sandip Ray, basé sur un personnage crée par le maître cinéaste, comme suit :

Ganashatru
(Ennemi du peuple)

Synopis : Ashoke Gupta est un médecin idéaliste travaillant dans une ville près de Calcutta. Il découvre que l’eau d’un temple populaire est à l’origine d’une épidémie de typhoïde et d’hépatite. Afin de sauver des vies, il risque sa carrière pour tenter d’attirer l’attention sur cette source d’eau polluée, tandis qu’un groupe local prônant une foi aveugle tente de le discréditer de diverses manières. Ce film est l’adaptation par Ray de la pièce d’Henrik Ibsen  » Un ennemi du peuple « , et se déroule dans une petite ville de l’Inde. Le film devient d’autant plus pertinent en ces temps de « pandémie », marqués par des points de vue opposés. La pièce d’Ibsen a été reprise par plusieurs compagnies théâtrales dans différents pays, dont le Théâtre du Nouveau Monde de Montréal qui l’a programmée pour la saison 2021-22.

Année de production : 1989
Langue : Bengali
Durée : 100 mins
Soustitres : Anglais et français (deux versions)
Lieu : en ligne, du 19 au 28 nov
Inscription pour billet (gratuit) : CLIQUEZ ICI

PROF SHANKU O EL DORADO
PROF. SHANKU

Professor Shanku with credits

Synopsis : Il s’agit d’une histoire d’aventure du scientifique génie et inventeur fictif Professeur Shonku visitant le cœur des forêts amazoniennes à la recherche de la ville mythique d’El Dorado. Un jour, un gentleman bengali typique Nakur Chandra Biswas alias Nakur Babu vient le rencontrer à la maison de Shonku à Giridih. Il vit à Makardaha. Shanku se rend compte que Nakur Babu a un pouvoir surnaturel ayant la capacité de lire dans les pensées des autres et de voir l’avenir.

Année  : 2019
Langue : Bengali
Durée : 93 mins
Soustitres : Bilingue (Anglais et français)
Lieu : Cinémathèque Québécoise, on 26th Nov at 19h00
Inscription pour billets : CLIQUEZ ICI

TABLE RONDE:
La projection à la Cinémathèque le 26 novembre sera suivie d’une table ronde avec les cinéastes et d’autres panélistes éminents. Voici les détails des panélistes :

  1.  Sandip Ray, fils de Satyajit Ray et directeur de ‘Prof. Shanku O El Dorado’, Kolkata, Inde
  2.  Dr Chinmoy Guha, Kolkata, Inde
    Chinmoy Guha est professeur et ancien Chef du département d’Anglais à l’Universite de Kolkata, écrivain et traducteur Bengalais, érudit en littérature et langue française.
    Il fut Vice-Chancellor du Rabindra Bharati University et Directeur des publications avec l’ambassade de France à New Delhi. Les ministères de l’Éducation et de la Culture du gouvernement français lui ont conféré le titre de chevalier en 2010 et 2013. Paschimbanga Bangla Akademi et le gouvernement du Bengale occidental lui ont conféré Vidyasagar Puroshkar en 2017. Le président français lui a conféré en novembre 2019 le titre de Chevalier de l’Ordre national du Mérite pour sa contribution aux échanges interculturels. Il a remporté le prestigieux prix Sahitya Akademi 2019 en littérature bengali pour son recueil d’essais Ghumer Darja Thele.
  3. Dr Subho Basu, Université McGill, Montréal
    Dr Subho Basu est professeur agrégé au Département d’histoire et d’études classiques de l’Université Mcgill. Après avoir obtenu son doctorat en histoire à l’Université de Cambridge, au Royaume-Uni, il a enseigné l’histoire impériale britannique à l’Université d’Exeter, au Royaume-Uni, et à l’École des études orientales et africaines de l’Université de Londres. Il a également été professeur agrégé d’histoire de l’Asie du Sud à l’Université de Syracuse et à l’Université d’État de l’Illinois. Il est également l’auteur de plusieurs livres et articles de recherche publiés dans des revues acclamées par la critique. Il a reçu la bourse Smuts Hinduja, Université de Cambridge, Cambridge, Royaume-Uni., Charles Wallace Research Award, Londres, Royaume-Uni., Bourse du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commonwealth, British Council, Londres, Royaume-Uni. Son domaine de spécialisation comprend l’histoire et la culture de l’Asie du Sud, l’histoire du travail, l’histoire des mouvements sociaux contemporains, les approches matérialistes de la culture, l’espace, la mondialisation et il est un critique passionné de l’art, du théâtre et des films indiens.
  4. Bratya Basu, Kolkata, Inde
  5. Dr. Srabanti Basu, Kolkata, India
    Srabanti Basu est professeure en biotechnologie avec le Heritage Institute of Technology à Kolkata. En plus de ses intérêts académiques, elle a une passion pour la poésie et sa présentation. Formée par Bratati Bandyopadhyah, elle a performé en Inde et à l’étranger pour le musée national à Bangkok, l’a,bassade de l’Inde à Bangkok, l’ambassade de lInde à Moscou, New Jersey Institute of Technology, Centre américain à Kolkata, Alliance française de Kolkata et autres. En plus de ses intérêts en théatre et arts visuels, elle a une bonne connaissance  des films de Satyajit Ray .